Press Release
New Delhi, 21.06.2017

            The District & Sessions Judge, Sasaram (Bihar) has today convicted five accused, namely Nirala Yadav, Ram Bachan, Lalan Singh & Nitish Kumar Oraon U/s 147, 148, 149, 341, 323, 353, 302 of IPC & Section 27 of Arms Act, 3(2)(1) & 22(5) POTA Act and Sudama Oraon U/s 20 of POTA Act, in a case relating to murder of Sh. Sanajay Kumar Singh, DFO.

            CBI registered this case on 22.03.2002 on the request of Govt. of Bihar & further notification from Govt of India and took up investigation of case earlier registered vide FIR No.4/2002 dated 15.02.2002 at Police Station Nauhata, District Rohtash (Bihar). It was alleged that on 14.02.2002, few persons of village Rehal had gone to village Daleli, District Garhwa (Jharkhand) for the marriage of Sh. Lalmuni @ Bilath Yadav with Ms. Shail Devi and was to return on 15.02.2002. A group of MCC naxalites armed with weapons under the leadership of Area Commander, Sh. Nirala Yadav had gathered in village Rehal to create trouble for the marriage of Ms. Shail Devi whose marriage was earlier almost settled with Sh. Ram Bachan Yadav, a naxalite. Subsequently, the marriage of Ms. Shail Devi was settled with Sh. Lalmuni as the family members of Ms. Shail Devi came to know about Sh. Ram Bachan Yadav being a worker of MCC. On 15.02.2002, when Sh. Sanjay Kumar Singh, DFO, Shahabad Division, Sasaram (Bihar) and his officials reached the Forest Range Office in village Rehal, they were surrounded by the aforesaid naxalites. Rs. five lakh was demanded from the DFO by the naxalites but he refused to pay. The DFO, Sh. Sanjay Kr. Singh was forcibly taken away from the village inside the jungle by the naxalites, where he was shot dead by naxalite Sh. Virender on the instructions of Area Commander Sh. Nirala Yadav.

            After thorough investigation, CBI filed Chargesheet/supplementary chargesheets under section 147, 148, 149, 341, 323, 353, 302 of IPC and Sec. 27 of Arms Act, 3(2)(1) & 22(5) POTA Act against accused persons in the year 2006-2009.

            The Trial Court found five accused persons guilty and convicted them. The Court will pronounce the sentence on 5th July, 2017.